Let me introduce myself

Me at CathedralSo you’re probably wondering why you should take my word on anything i publish here, so i think that the best way for you to trust me, is to talk a little bit about myself as well as where i come from.

My name is and i lived all of my thirty and (oh yes you would like to know!) years in a little city north of the country called Mexicali. My hometown borders with the US, is next to Calexico and about two hours from San Diego Ca. Ever since i was six or five years old having a visa and crossing over to the States was a common practice. We usually go over there to shop in malls, have a burger, go to concerts and of course visit Disneyland, Six Flags and Seaworld. So even though im mexican, im pretty much more used to the american flavor and fast food, as well as their pop culture and lifestyle. My roommate often makes fun of me saying that i’m a “gringo”, obviously sarcastically since my looks are very latino.
So there are aspects of the food, the way people talk  and their everyday activities here in Mexico City that are also new to me. I haven’t taste a tlacoyuda for example, and it still is strange to me how the quesadillas don’t usually have cheese by default, i never gonna get used to the voice of the people selling stuff yelling in the subway, and so on. Even though i have visited this city several times before, it is not until you spend here months that you start to find those little hidden gems that you go “oh i wish i knew this place when i visited before!” And if i do my job right that is not going to happen to you.

Leave a comment